Arrival Addiction and Happiness

A long time ago, in a life far, far away, I thought if I could just get the right assignment, I would have it made. Happiness would abound. I got the next assignment and it looked good. A few months in the new assignment and it turned out to be the same, same old. No real, new, lasting happiness.

So, I began immediately to lobby for the next assignment. I had to have the fix of a new and better place to be and work. Over time and many assignments I discovered what I call “Arrival Addiction.” I was addicted to finding a new place at which to arrive. If I arrived at just the right place, all would be roses.

That did not work out as planned. So then I switched to money. I found myself addicted to arriving at a certain amount in my bank account. If I could just make a six figure income, I’d be happy. No matter how much money I made, I was not happy. I had to arrive, and quickly, at the next level of wealth – then I would be happy.

Now, please do not misunderstand: it is good to want and fulfill a good assignment job-wise.
Setting goals and achieving them is a positive occurrence. It is good to have as high an income as is possible as long as that income comes without stress or anxiety. Nothing wrong with good things per se.

But when these good things lead to arrival addiction, you have a problem.

One of the most important and significant arrivals might be to find the right life partner. If only I could land someone like “so-and-so,” I’d be so happy. Some folks, therefore, go from significant other to significant other trying to arrive at just the right one. Of course, many relationships go through this problem. Many, many marriages are ruined, soon or late, because of arrival addiction.

“If I could just get there ….”

The truth is that happiness is with you all the time. You have arrived. You just need to know where to look. You have arrived at happiness when you have made a lasting relationship with the Eternal. You get to define the Eternal as you see fit.

Wherever you go, there you are. (Yogi Berra) You need only to be still and allow the Eternal to be revealed within you. I guarantee that happiness is already within you. No further searching need be done. You simply open yourself to the Eternal that is within you right now.

You may have a challenge giving up your arrival addiction. The way you overcome that addiction is by substituting it with a new quest. That quest is to get closer and closer to the Eternal. To be more and more attached to the Eternal. Believe me, please, when I say that that arrival is right here, right now, in your own eternal spirit.

Leave a Reply

